Chapter 16: Tracing back beginnings

The adorable Logan Autumn welcomes you back to another Autumn legacy chapter 🙂

“Hey little buddy! How was your day?” Charlie said tickling his little brother.
“Nice!” Logan had a habit of saying the word nice, he had recently picked it up from one of his sisters and took joy in saying the new word.
“That’s great! Cletus and I had an amazing day today! We met some great girls at school and we impressed them.” Charlie said.
“Nice cousin?” Logan asked furrowing his brows to concentrate.
“Yes! That’s right! Cletus is our cousin!” Charlie said smiling at his little brother, “Now let’s put you to bed.”

The girls happily went to bed in their newly decorated room. Nicolette and Michael had recently redecorated Chuck and Maggie’s old bedroom to serve as a girls’ bedroom. They also redecorated the nursery into a boys’ bedroom. So, now Lucy and Jenny share a room whilst Charlie and Logan share another.

It was a normal day like the others but for Charlie it would soon turn into something different.

After school, he invited his cousin Cletus to hang out with him. Cletus was a bit older than him and was one of the most popular guys at school, Charlie was also rising in the ranks of popularity due to his good looks.
“Hey Charlie!” Cletus stopped him before the went inside the house.
“What?” Charlie asked him.
“I heard that there are quite a couple of girls over at school that are saying they would love to go out with you.”
“Really?” Charlie said.
“Yes, Marie told me so.”
“Marie?? Who’s Marie?”
“Oh, sorry, she’s a girl in my biology class. Speaking of which…I want to tell you something but I don’t know how you will take it.” Cletus said now looking uncomfortable.
“Charlie…I uh…Michael is not your father.”
“What???” Charlie asked perplexed. He could remember his father ever since he was a little kid, “Are you trying to trap me? Because these are no ‘ha gotcha’ matters.” Charlie said confused.
“No cus, I’m definately not trying to trap you. It’s just…biology and genetics and mum.” Cletus rambled.
“What the hell are you on about??”

The boys had been talking for hours…
“So, correct me if I’m wrong, but you’re saying that dad is not my dad because;

a.) I do not have anything of his genetics
b.) Your biology teacher told you that genetics are hereditary
c.) You then asked aunt Ellen whether mum has always been married to my dad and she said no and she wouldn’t tell you anything more.
d.) You said you saw a guy in town that looks so much like me that he could be my father

That is all…right?” Charlie said ticking an invisible list on his fingers.
“Yes, that’s all Charlie. I just thought I ought to tell you, you know, seeing how we tell each other everything.” Cletus said sheepishly.
“No, you did right. I mean, it’s better finding out now rather than never!” Charlie said, “Now, I don’t want to be rude Cle but would you mind leaving me alone to think things over for a bit?”
“Of course man. See you at school tomorrow and don’t forget the integration problems that our maths teacher gave us for tomorrow!” Cletus said, taking his leave.

“Hey mum! Do you mind if we…uh…have a chat?” Charlie asked his mother later that day.
“Of course I don’t mind Charlie. Let me just put your little brother to bed and then I’m all yours.”
“Thanks mum.” Charlie said. He didn’t want to upset his mother by telling her what he had found out but he needed to know for sure and he knew that his mother would tell him the truth.

At first he was too much of a coward to ask her what was really bothering him and he made up an excuse that he needed some help with his homework. Yet, Nicolette soon realised that something was up with Charlie.
“Charlie! What is really bothering you?” she asked him, “I know you well and something is bothering you. To top it off, you know all of these sums and don’t need any help from me whatsoever!”
“Is dad my father?” Charlie mumbled.
“What, Charlie? I can’t hear what you said. Please say it again.”
“Is dad really my father?” Charlie now turned his full gaze onto his mother.
Nicolette was shocked. Firstly, because she realised how much Charlie had grown up to resemble his father and for a minute she had thought she was actually looking at Tim. Secondly, she and Michael hadn’t really decided what they were going to tell the kids once they grew up and worked out the fact that they looked nothing like him.
“Errr…” Nicolette looked down at her lap. What was she going to do? She finally decided on telling him the full truth.
“No Charlie…Michael isn’t your father.” she swallowed. Charlie was looking at her expectantly.
“Seventeen years ago, I married a man by the name of Tim Lyons. I loved him with all of my heart and for a while I believe he loved me too. You were born a year after we married and then came Lucy. For a while your father was distant but I grew incredibly happy when for a short while he got back to his old self. Then, I grew suspicious of him because he spent so much time away from home. One day, I followed him on one of his trips and that’s when I discovered that he was going out with another woman. He broke my heart when he did that and I could never forgive him. So, he left and I also discovered that I was pregnant with your youngest sister Jenny. You were about Logan’s age when Tim left so that’s why you don’t remember him.”

It was a while before Charlie spoke again.
“Logan?” he asked.
Nicolette understood him right away, “You must remember Michael and I getting married right?”
Charlie nodded, “I always thought that had been a special family occasion and not an actual wedding at the time.”
“Logan is Michael’s only blood related son but he loves all of you as if you were his own.” Nicolette said. 
“I know and I will still think of Michael as my dad because he is after all the one who helped me in my homework when I was younger and who was always there for me like a real father should be. You do understand that I might want to see who my real father is in the future right?”
“I understand Charlie. I’m sorry.” Nicolette said.
“It was none of your fault mum!”
“Thanks for being so forgiving Charlie. Please, all that I have told you has to remain strictly between you, Michael and me. You may tell your sisters if they ask you when they reach your age but I don’t want them knowing about this already, they’re too young.”
“Sure mum. Thanks for telling me the truth.” Charlie said.
“I love you son.”
“Love you mum.”

Charlie let his problems be for a while. After all, as he reasoned, he had a mother that loved him and a step-father that would do anything for him, so, what was the problem?? Just plain curiosity. He wanted to hear both sides of the story.

Not long after, it was time for another birthday party. Lucy was growing up into a teen. He wondered whether she would wonder about her father too and pondered on telling her the truth so that he could have someone to share his burden with. For now however he just let it be and enjoyed himself at the party whilst chatting up a girl by the name of Jeanie Wilkins.

Charlie was amazed, the girls Cletus and him usually hung out with at school were all good looking but quite shallow. The case was different with Jeanie, she was fresh and bright and though it had been a while since he had spoken to her, they both found what to talk about. Out of the corner of his eye, Charlie saw Cletus give him the thumbs up. His cousin was dancing with the school head cheerleader and was really smug about it. Charlie returned the gesture and when he saw Jeanie looking at him with raised eyebrows, he explained that it was a ‘thing’ that he and Cletus did. Jeanie shrugged, “You wanna’ dance?” she asked him.
“You betcha’!” Charlie smiled.

Then it was time for the celebration of Lucy’s birthday.

Lucy grew up into a gorgeous teen, earning the athletic trait when she grew up.

“Charlie, there’s that man that I told you about.” Cletus whispered.
“What man?”
“The one that looks a lot like you.”
Charlie turned around and sure enough, in the far corner of the room there was what looked like an older version of himself.

Lucy was gathering up the dirty party plates when she overheard her brother talking to a man she had never seen before.
“So, I’m just going to come right out and say it, are you my father?” Charlie asked.
Lucy’s eyes nearly popped right out of her head. What was her brother going on about?
“Yes I am. How did you know it was me?” the man replied.
Lucy was gripping the plates really hard now.
“I’d say there isn’t much difference in the way you and I look.” Charlie said curtly.
Tim took a moment to analyse his soon’s appearance, “You’re right. You’re just like me.”
“No I’m not! I may look like you but I would never have done what you did to mum!” Charlie spat.
“You’re blaming me!” Tim said looking surprised, “Staying with just one woman annoys the hell outta’ any real man Charlie! I had to dedicate all my day to taking care after you and your sister when that’s a woman’s job to do! I hated you! I couldn’t long to get away from you!” Tim growled angrily.
There was a clatter of plates falling to the floor as Lucy dropped them in horror. Absolute silence followed.
Then one of the guests said, “Thanks for inviting me! I think I should go home now!” and he hurriedly left. Some other guests followed suit but others remained, whether to offer support or to be able to have something juicy to gossip on, none of the Autumns knew.

Suddenly, Tim withdrew backwards, “Look, I’m sorry I’m not the father you maybe wanted Charlie but this is me. All my life, I have broken women’s hearts, I’m a heartbreaker but that’s just the way I get by. Your mother was something special and wanting to please my family, I settled down with her but I just couldn’t take it anymore. There’s nothing wrong with any of you, you’re all great kids but I just can’t…I can’t take the responsability. I’m sure Michael did a better job of raising you than I would have ever done.”
“You could have tried.” Lucy said crying. She had just learned that he was her father and confused as she was, she still tried to make her voice heard.
“I’m sorry.” Tim said turning around to face her, “You’re all better off not getting to know me.”
“Then why did you come to the party?” Charlie asked.
“Curiosity…I haven’t seen you since you were little babies running in diapers and I wanted to see what you had grown up to be.”
“Well…you have seen them now Tim.” it was Nicolette who spoke in an unnaturally high voice, “It’s high time you left and don’t bother ever presenting yourself at this house again.”
With those words, Tim turned around and exited the house calmly.

Not once turning around.

Not once looking back.

Not ever to come again.

“I can’t believe he had the face to come back here!” Nicolette said to her husband later that night when they were preparing to go to sleep.
“You know it had to happen eventually.” Michael reasoned.
“I know, but Jenny is so young! And now Charlie and Lucy will have to tell her! And Lucy found out about this in a very harsh way! On her birthday! He ruined it!”

In the girls’ bedroom a very different conversation was taking place.
“So, it’s true then.” Lucy said sadly.
“Yes, I’m afraid it is Luce. But, at least we’ve got mum and Michael.” Charlie said.
“Would you just shut up you two!” Jenny snapped.
“Jenn! Do you know what just happened?” Lucy said astonished.
“Sure I do;
Dad isn’t our dad but another man is our dad. 
Mum is our mum and that’s something you should think about 
Logan’s our half brother but we’re related with blood.
It’s Lucy’s birthday and she just grew up.
I’m all tired and I want to sleep
We’re still quite lucky, can’t you see?”

By this time Jenny finished, both Lucy and Charlie were standing there with their mouths open.
“You’re a genius Jenn!” Charlie said smiling.
“I know! Except, I got the hot-headed trait for some reason instead” Jenny finished, then she flopped onto her bed, stretched, yawned loudly and fell asleep almost immediately.
“Bless her!” Lucy said shaking her head. Charlie shook with silent laughter, “I’m off to sleep.” he mouthed to Lucy as he left the girls’ bedroom.

The next few weeks were absurdly normal for the older Autumn children.
“It’s so strange, isn’t it?” Lucy remarked one day when they were doing their homework at the kitchen table.
“What’s strange?” Charlie asked her.
“How, despite the fact that there’s always some other family member around to offer their support, I don’t even feel that I need it.” Lucy said.
“Well, you’re right! We don’t need it! We have got each other after all and we all know who our real father is so there is no mystery to that.” Charlie said.
Jenny nodded, “And it’s going to be my birthday soon!” she smiled.
“And Logan’s too.” Charlie added.
“Yes, but, it’s going to be MY birthday!” she said excitedly. Lucy and Charlie rolled eyes at each other.

“Cletus! Buddy, how you doing? I mean, with all this homework that the teachers have been giving us, it’s a wonder that we even got to meet each other!” Charlie patted his cousin on the back.
“I’m fine. It’s great to see you again! Hey, have you heard? Looks like Aunt Trudy and Uncle Scott are going to have a baby!” 
“Ooooh and the evidence is standing just a few feet away from us.” Charlie chuckled.
“Wow, it’s about time they thought of giving us a cousin! I mean, according to mum, Scott and Trudy were the couple that first married.”  Cletus said.
“Yeah…Trudy is also my birth father’s sister. I’m not sure whether I’m that fond of my aunt because of that…” Charlie muttered darkly.
“Oh come off it Charlie! Your mother is talking to her right now, so I’m sure that Trudy did nothing to hurt her.”

“Hey Angela! You finished our Chem lab report yet?” Charlie asked his chemistry lab partner.
“Yes, I finished my part Charlie. My question is, did you finish yours as well?” Angela asked him.
“I…uh…I’m still working on it but it’s half-way done. I will finish it by next Monday for sure.” Charlie promised her.
“Well, you’d better do just that because I’m not looking forward to another C.” Angela said before shaking her head and walking off. She just couldn’t stand Charlie. He was one of those guys who cared about nothing, got all the cute girlfriends and were always the centre of attention at school. She on the other hand was just plain Angela Deal, the girl who knew a lot about Chemistry and who unfortunately was stuck as Charlie’s lab partner for the year. Something which all the other girls envied her for and something which she didn’t in the least bit like.

Michael on the other hand was congratulating the soon to be father Scott. Michael had recently grown old, his blonde hair turning into a hue as white as snow.

In the far corner, stood Jamie Wilkins, all by herself, she had recently grown up and was still getting to know the other young adults in the society. She also didn’t want to hang out with the teens anymore because now she felt that she was older and superior to them.

However, it wasn’t only Charlie who had friends (or in the case of Angela, an unkown enemy), Lucy had quite a few friends too. Though she wasn’t as popular as her brother Charlie, she was still one of those well known girls at school. Ron Joy was one of her close friends and she enjoyed talking to him at the party.

This time round, the guests were good guests as they actually went to cheer for the actual birthday event. Logan and Jenny celebrated their birthdays happily surrounded by family and friends.

Logan grew up into a cute little kid. He got frugal as his 3rd trait. Yay for a trait that I never had before in this legacy! 🙂

Jenny grew up into a gorgeous teen. Just as much as Charlie resembles Tim, Jenny resembles Nicolette. She has Nicolette’s near exact features and skin colour.  The downer is that as her 4th trait, she got Loser. Again, a trait that I have never experienced before in this legacy.

Jenny immediately picked up the new guitar her parents gave her for her birthday. It had been evident from the start that Jenny was a virtuoso but now with a guitar in her hand there was no denying what she was…a true musician.

“I don’t understand girls!” Charlie told his cousin.
“What is there to understand? When you find a cute girl, you talk to her and you go out on a date. If you really like her you continue to go out with her, if not you dump her.” Cletus told his cousin simply.
“You talk as if I can go out with any girl I want.” Charlie accused.
“Well, it is the truth! Charlie, you and me, are the most popular guys at school. No girl can resist our charms.” Cletus said confidently.
“I sure can.” Lucy who was searching the galaxy for stars (her new hobby) muttered.
“What was that Luce?” Cletus asked.
“Nothing. I was just talking about the stars.” she said smiling as she got back to her work though she couldn’t help and eavesdrop.
“It’s not true. I think Angela hates me for some reason. She always rebukes me when I try to have a long conversation with her.” Charlie said.
“Angela? Who’s Angela??” Cletus asked, “Oh…wait, are you actually talking about your Chemistry lab partner?” Cletus continued wide eyed.
“Yes I am. What’s the matter?”
“Of all the girls you could have! You choose  to like plain, boring Angela Deal!” Cletus said.
“Hey, she’s not plain and I never said that I liked her.” Charlie retorted.
“Well, don’t even think about why she hates you! She’s not worth it.”
“EXCUSE ME!” it was Lucy who spoke, having completely abandoned her project of searching the galaxy, she turned around to face the boys.

“You speak of a girl like she has no feelings!!” Lucy said horrified, “I think I pretty much know why this girl hates you so much.”
“Oh yeah, and why does she hate him so much?” Cletus said, annoyed at finding such a strong opposition to his words.
“Well, she’s your lab partner, isn’t she?” Lucy asked. Charlie confirmed this by a nod of his head.
“You rarely do your chemistry homework and when you do you don’t put any effort in it. So, she must be pissed off at you because she has probably been getting low marks the whole year and they’re going to make her look bad. Even worse is that you don’t give a damn that another person is suffering those marks all because of you.” Lucy said glaring at her brother, “This has obviously  made you seem careless and big headed in her eyes.”
“What?” Charlie said his eyebrows furrowing, “But…I’ve never been big headed because of my popularity!”
“And who mentioned your popularity? See how big headed you’ve gotten to be.” Lucy cut across him.

“I gotta’ give it to your sister Charlie. She does have a point.” Cletus said.
“Oh shut up Cletus, you’re just as bad as he is, if not worse.” Lucy said rolling her eyes.
“Hey!” Cletus said crossing his arms in mock anger.
“So, back to the speech I was giving you. It might help you, Charlie, if you start caring about anything other than popularity and girls. Then, you might actually receive some real respect.” Lucy said after which she bid them goodnight and disappeared inside.

“It’s such a nice day out, eh Charlie??” Jenny said, “Charlie??”
She turned around and sure enough, her brother wasn’t walking after her anymore. He was talking to a girl.
“Good thing I brought my guitar to keep me company.” Jenny muttered to herself.

“Angela!” Charlie said happy to see his Chemistry lab partner at the park because he had some news to tell her.
“Charlie.” Angela looked annoyed to see him and barely acknowledged him.
“I did my part of the Chemistry report.” he told her.
That got her attention immediately, “Really? Is Charlie Autumn, actually saying that he did his Chemistry homework?” Angela said raising her eyebrows.
“Yeah I did it and I didn’t copy it from any website or anything. It was all me.” Charlie said proudly.
Angela rolled her eyes, “By the way you’re speaking everyone would think you just did a great thing when all you did was write a Chemistry report. You disgust me Charlie Autumn.”
For a moment Charlie was at a loss of what to say and Angela saw this moment as a great opportunity to leave.
“Wait!” Charlie called after her, “Aren’t you at least going to check if I did the report right?”
Angela cursed herself for turning around to actually help him.

Jenny remained at the park long after her brother had left with Angela. She was happy that three people actually stopped their morning routine to listen to her playing the guitar.

The report reviewing had been finished but Angela remained.
Lucy, who was as always studying the stars, smiled as she saw her brother and Angela kissing through the window.
Finally! Seemed like her brother had actually taken her advice.

It was the night after he kissed Angela that Charlie decided what he wanted of life. He wanted to have a Golden Tounge and Golden Fingers. Angela had inspired him to be as charismatic as he could whereas his sister Jenny’s love for music had finally rubbed off on him.

To say Logan was having a bad day was an understatement. He had poured his heart out to write a book and had published it with high hopes. The response he got was really heartbreaking. It came in the form of an e-mail.

“Dear Mr. L. Autumn,

Your book is such a flop I couldn’t even stand to read it till the end. The characters are shallow, the plot is predictable and your English needs a lot more work. 

Yours,

Mr. R. Atwood”

Logan couldn’t help but cry.

That’s when his older half-sister Jenny came into the room.
“I thought I heard someone sobbing?” she said gently.
Logan swiveled round in the rotating desk-chair and looked directly at his sister, “Read it.” he instructed pointing at the e-mail still opened on the web page.
Jenny quickly read the letter and scooped her little brother into a hug.
“Logan! Don’t you go let that man get you down! Just because the first book you’ve written is a flop, doesn’t mean that you’ll always write books that are so!”
Logan, however, was not convinced. “It’s always me! Lucy’s really smart and she has discovered so many different planets and stars that she’s already a known researcher, you on the other hand are really skilled at playing the guitar and Charlie…well he’s Charlie, he’s just awesome at everything he does!”
“Woah there, hold on. I am not as great as you imagine me to be. I’m a loser.” Jenny told him her eyes saddening.
“Yesterday, I volunteered to get the class garbage bin outside and I tripped in the school’s main stairs and I fell. I ended up sitting in the bin and my butt got stuck in it. Everyone in school has now nicknamed me as “Smelly Jenny”.”
Logan couldn’t help but laugh as he pictured the scenario.
“You think that’s funny?” Jenny said hurt, “Because it isn’t.”
Then she sighed, “Anyways, what I’m trying to tell you is that you should keep on trying. At least it is only you who knows that you’ve written a flop and not your whole school year.”
“Thanks Jenn.” Logan smiled.
“Glad I could be of help.” Jenny replied.

Michael went to visit his in-laws and he found Trudy at home.
“Hey, how are you doing Trudy?” he asked her.
“Great! I can’t believe Terry is already a month old!” she beamed.

Terry was Scott and Trudy’s newly-born daughter. Her parents were really happy with her and she had a nice nursery to sleep in and a very nice house to live in. There was no doubt that she would be given everything she needed as she grew up.

“Honey…why did you come in your gym clothes back home from school today?” Nicolette asked her daughter.
“I saw you run to your room to change quickly.” Nicolette said when Jenny gawped at her.
“Nothing! I just came back home in them!” Jenny said avoiding eye-contact with her mother.
“Spit it out.” Nicolette said.
“Fine. You want to know what a loser your daughter is?” Jenny said tears forming in her eyes, “I got my clothes stolen from my locker at school today. I don’t know by whom but I had to wear my smelly gym clothes all day instead. They will never stop calling me Smelly Jenny now.” Tears were streaming down Jenny’s face now.
“Honey…I didn’t know. Do you want me to call the principal?” Nicolette asked concerned.
“NO!” Jenny said forcefully, “The last thing I want them to know is that I came back home crying to you!” and with that she rose up, flung her plate across the room and banged her bedroom door shut behind her.

“Jenn.” it was Charlie who had spoken, him and Jenny were doing their homework together. Lucy wasn’t there because she had to research the science facility for a project and Logan was still at school. Nicolette was out tending the garden and Michael was working out for another promotion, he had recently gotten a new promotion to Vice Squad (lvl 6 law enforcement career) 
“Yes Charlie?” Jenny asked her brother.
“I heard some kids talking at school today. They were saying something about Smelly Jenny…I hope they were referring to another Jenny…” Charlie trailed off.
Jenny sighed, “No they weren’t. They were talking about Jenny Autumn, your sister.”
“Why? You smell nice to me! And you’ve got nothing that they should tease you about.” Charlie said perplexed.
“Oh yes I have…” and so Jenny proceeded to tell him all her humiliating incidents. Charlie didn’t laugh like Logan for he saw how serious the situation was.
“I had no idea you were being treated this horribly at school Jenn! I would have done something about it! I am going to do something about it.” Charlie said firmly.
“Oh no you ain’t!” Jenny told him, “If you try to do something, the only thing that would happen would be that you and Lucy loose your popularity and then we’d just end up a whole bunch of losers. I prefer to be a loser alone. At least I can say that I have you for a brother and Lucy for a sister at school. That helps…sometimes.” Jenny sighed.
“Why won’t you let me help you?”
“Because…I have to be the one to solve this.” Jenny said clearly closing the topic.
“So…what’s this I hear about you having decided on what to do in the future?” Charlie said changing the topic.
“I want to become a Master of the Arts. I mean, I have always loved painting and music just makes everything feel better in my life, you know? So I figured I would connect those two together.”
“That’s a great idea!” Charlie said smiling. Jenny beamed at him.

“Happy Birthday Logan!” everyone shouted. It was amazing how quickly the weeks flew by and now the youngest of the Autumn children was ready to become a teenager.

Logan grew up to be…uhh…definately looking nothing like his namesake. The 4th trait he got was Friendly.

This is where I end this chapter. I am going to put up the heirpoll over on boolprop even though my heirs are still teens. This is because there is a huge age gap between Charlie and Logan and if I wait till all of them are young adults, Charlie would be nearing his adult hood by then! So, cast your votes for whom you want to continue the legacy 🙂 Thanks for reading! Until then, merry christmas and a happy new year! 😀

2 thoughts on “Chapter 16: Tracing back beginnings

Leave a comment